Extension Deadlines Extended for Hurricane Florence Victims

Victims of Hurricane Florence in North Carolina disaster areas have been given until January 31, 2019 to file certain individual and business returns and to make payments. This means that anyone in the affected areas have until January 31st to pay any taxes and file any returns that were originally due in this period. This includes 1065 and 1120S returns on extension and any estimated tax payments that were due today, September 17.

Currently, this extension is only for certain counties in North Carolina. However, we have been informed that as other counties and states are added to the disaster area they will automatically be granted this same relief. As of now, these areas include these North Carolina Counties:

  • Beaufort
  • Brunswick
  • Carteret
  • Craven
  • New Hanover
  • Onslow
  • Pamlico
  • Pender

For more information, please visit the Disaster Relief page on the IRS Website.